Brief Bio-data of Prof D. C. Panigrahi

Prof D. C. Panigrahi graduated from Indian School of Mines(ISM), Dhanbad in 1984. After his graduation, he served in the coal mines of Tata Steel Limited for a period of 03 years during 1984-87, 05 years from 1987 to 1992 as a scientist in CSIR-Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad and nearly 29 years as a faculty member of IIT(ISM), Dhanbad(erstwhile ISM, Dhanbad) from 1992-2021. During his period of work in IIT(ISM), Dhanbad; he served as Professor during 1998-2009 and Professor (HAG) during 2009-21. He specializes in mine ventilation, mine fire control, coal bed methane and other areas related to sub-surface mine ventilation and environmental engineering. He received some prestigious assignments from the Govt. of India and industry. To name a few, he was appointed as a member of Expert Committee for reopening of sealed off fire areas in New Kenda Colliery after the disaster on 25.01.94 in which 55 persons had died. He was also appointed as a member of the Expert Committee by the Ministry of Coal, Govt. of India for investigation into Anjan Hill Mine Disaster in 2010 in which 14 persons had died and 31 persons were seriously injured.

Prof D. C. Panigrahi was the Director, ISM, Dhanbad during 2011-16, and the Director, IIT(ISM), Dhanbad during 2016-18. He was appointed by the Govt. of India as an Independent Director in the Board of Coal India Limited, the holding company with 08 different subsidiary companies, a Maharatna Company in Public Sector for the duration of 04 years from 2015 to 2019. Presently he is the Chairman & Managing Director, Panigrahi Mining Research and Consultancy Private Limited. During his period of work, he has executed 14 major research projects as Project Leader and Coordinator, published 158 peer reviewed research papers, edited two books published by two internationally reputed publishers (A.A. Balkema, Rotterdam, Netherland and Science Publishers B. V., USA), guided 18 students for their Ph. D. degree, and successfully executed 425 major industry sponsored projects as Project Leader and Coordinator from 73 different companies / organizations. He was nominated as an honorary member of International Advisory Board for the International Journal of Archives of Mining Sciences published by Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland since 2012. He also received a number of international honours and recognitions for his contributions in the area of his research endeavour.

Because of his significant contributions and dedicated service to the country, he was conferred with 16 different awards, viz. National Mineral Award in 1998 from the Ministry of Mines, Govt. of India, ASPIRE recognition from Tata Steel Limited in 2005, S.S.B. Memorial Award in 2003-04, National Design Award in 2012, Eminent Mining Engineer award in 2012, SBI Best Researcher Awards (four awards consecutively for four different years) during 2011-15, Indian Mining Engineering Journal Golden Jubilee Award in 2012, Debadutta Memorial Best Academic Management Excellence Award 2012, Prof S. K. Bose Memorial Award in 2013-14, ISM Alumni Association Awards (three awards consecutively in three different years) during 2012-15, Canara Bank Research Publication Award in 2015, Indian Mine Managers' Association Excellence Award in 2015, Dewan Bahadur D D Thacker Coal Mining (Gold) Medal 2015-16 from MGMI, Prince Mukarram Jah Endowment Award Lecture in 2016 from International Geophysical Union and Dr Rajendra Prasad Memorial Prize in 2016 from MGMI. He was also conferred as a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE) in 2017.